Guest Speakers


Prof. Bill Brocklesby

  • Head of Scanning Near-Field Optical Microscopy group at University of Southampton

Dr. Bill Brocklesby is a Reader at the Optoelectronics Research Centre at Southampton, and an associate member of the School of Physics and Astronomy. His research interests, originating from his doctoral work in Oxford and postdoctoral work at AT&T Bell Laboratories, span spectroscopy and microscopy of a wide range of materials and devices.

For the last 10 years he has worked in the area of nanoscale imaging, with particular emphasis on the study of optical waveguide devices, demonstrating subwavelength optical imaging within devices such as fibre Bragg gratings and microstructured fibres, and nonlinear waveguides. He has been a member of the steering committee of the EPSRC-funded Nano-optics Network, and is a regular contributor to near field optics conferences, such as NFO.

He has extensive experience with other microscope and scanning probe techniques such as micro-Raman spectroscopy, AFM, and STM, and ultrafast laser technology. He has over 50 journal papers in these research areas.

mike childress.jpg

DR. Mike Childress
Lecturer at the Univeristy of Southampton

Currently a Lecturer at the University of Southampton in the Department of Physics and Astronomy as part of the Astronomy Group.

Previously  was a CAASTRO postdoctoral fellow at the Australian National University working for Professor Brian Schmidt on the SkyMapper Transients survey.

Received  his PhD in Physics from the University of California Berkeley in 2011 With the thesis, entitled "Host Galaxies of Type Ia Supernovae from the Nearby Supernova Factory", was conducted under the supervision of advisors Dr. Greg Aldering and Prof. Saul Perlmutter.


Richard Murray

Lead Technologist, Emerging Technologies and Industries. I monitor exciting developments emerging from academia, and apply the right tools to stimulate new industries for economic growth. After leaving academia, I joined The Technology Partnership (TTP) as a consultant. At TTP, I was the technical, and later, managerial lead in various projects.


Proffessor Pavlos Lagoudakis

Pavlos has pioneered in the field of polaritonics with the first demonstration of polariton lasing at room temperature and he is recognized in the international scientific community for the realization of the theoretical proposals of Dexter (1979) and Agranovich (1998) on hybrid organic-inorganic photonic devices for light harvesting and light emission respectively. For his contribution in the field of polaritonics and hybrid photonics Pavlos received the Quantum Electronics Young Scientist Prize from the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (Sydney, 2011). Pavlos has leveraged over £20M of funding from the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), the Royal Society, the British Council, UKIRIE, the EU and industry



Professor Tim Sluckin

Is a Professor within Mathematical Sciences at the University of Southampton.


Proffessor Malgosia Kaczmarek

Is a Proffessor within the Quantum Light and Matter group at the University of southampton in the Soft Photonics Systems Group.